Louisiana Health Care Commission Meeting Minutes Poydras Building Hearing Room Baton Rouge, Louisiana March 27, 2009

Members present: Sandra Adams, Coletta Barrett, Dr. Robert Barsley, Dr. L. Philip

Caillouet, Dawn Cantrell, Dr. J. Steven Caraway, Kelly Cox, Diane Davidson, Dr. Karen DeSalvo, Kerry Drake, Dr. Thomas Fairley, Scott Flowers, Donna Fraiche, Randal Johnson, Myra Myers,

Phyllis Perron, Cheryl Tolbert and Karen Reiners Winfrey.

Members absent: Leah Barron, Scott Broussard, Julie Cherry, Dr. Ron Christner, Dr.

Paul Dammers, Dr. Robin Daniel, Dr. Holley Galland, Dr. R. Jonathan Henderson, Rep. Chuck Kleckley, Charles Lea, Rhonda Litt, Nancy McPherson, Bert T. Melancon, Gordon Natal, Jr., Dr. Patrick O'Connor, Christine Arbo Peck, George Renaudin, Bridgette Richard, Donna Swanson, Dr. Laura Trunk and Dr. Leonard Weather.

Staff present: Alison M. Jones, Thomas Clemons, Vanessa Vince and Karen

Krumholt.

Chairperson Donna Fraiche called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. The roll was called and a quorum was present. The commission voted to approve the January 30, 2009 meeting minutes.

Chairperson Fraiche announced that Karen DeSalvo, M.D. will serve as the Vice Chairperson of the Louisiana Health Care Commission (LHCC).

Chairperson Fraiche introduced the new LHCC members and their organizations.

- Scott Flowers, Louisiana Health Care Review, Inc.
- Cheryl Tolbert, Louisiana Health Care Alliance

George Burgess, M.D., Vice President, Innovation and Technology, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System (FMOLHS), Ms. Laura "Lolly" Thompson Martin, Vice President, Healthcare Reform, FMOLHS and Thomas "Pat" Perone, M.D., Vice President, Quality Services, FMOLHS presented on the topic of Advancing Change Through the Medical Home.

Ms. Martin gave an overview of the medical homes operating within the FMOLHS in Louisiana which include St. Bernard Health Center in Chalmette, Franciscan Clinic at St. Francis Medical Center in Monroe, St. Claire Clinic at Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center in Lafayette and Franciscan Clinic at Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center in Baton Rouge.

Dr. Burgess commented that the goal for the medical home model is that the patient be seen for treatment the same day or within 24 hours with no waiting time at the center. He stated that the visit will last a minimum of 30 minutes for a full evaluation to serve the patients

individual needs. Dr. Burgess further stated that a survey is given to every patient asking for comments, suggestions for improvements and their overall experience while at the center.

Dr. Perone commented on financial incentives for physicians and advised that quality bonuses will be available.

Chairperson Fraiche introduced Dawn Cantrell, a new LHCC member. Ms. Cantrell represents Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana.

Ms. Susan M. Christensen, Senior Public Policy Advisor, Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell and Berkowitz, P.C. gave an update on National Health Care Reform. Ms. Christensen discussed the latest developments in Washington, D.C. including the reauthorization of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) formerly called the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Ms. Christensen further discussed the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) including health care funding and upcoming health care reform issues.

Ms. Karen Reiners Winfrey, Deputy Commissioner, Office of Health, Louisiana Department of Insurance reported on the Department of Insurance Mandated Health Care Study. Ms. Winfrey discussed cost analysis of the Louisiana mandated health care benefits and a comparison of other states mandated benefits.

Mr. Thomas Clemons announced that the Louisiana Department of Insurance Annual Health Care Conference is scheduled for Thursday, May 28, 2009 at the Hilton in Baton Rouge.

Ms. Alison Jones announced that a meeting is scheduled for Thursday, April 2, 2009 in the Plaza Hearing Room at Louisiana Department of Insurance to discuss the Louisiana Department of Insurance 2009 Legislative Package.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.